Six MLAs of JVM (P) allowed to cast votes in Rajya Sabha by-poll

By Abha Manakatala - Thu Jul 02, 8:02 am

jvm-prajatantrikSix MLAs, who were facing disqualification charges for joining the BJP after winning the Assembly polls on Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) tickets, have been allowed to cast their votes for Rajya Sabha by-poll in Jharkhand today.

The by-poll is being held following the resignation of K D Singh, who had won the seat with the backing of the JMM and later joined Trinamool Congress. His term was scheduled to end next year.

Well-known journalist M J Akbar of the BJPand Haji Hussain Ansari of the JMM are in the fray.

Naveen Jaiswal (Hatia), Amar Kumar Bauri (Chandankiyari), Ganesh Ganju (Simeria), Alok Kumar Chourasia (Daltonganj), Randhir Kumar Singh (Sarath) and Janki Yadav (Barkatha) had joined the BJP on February 11 after winning the December Assembly elections on Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) symbol.

Leave a Reply